California Passes Paid Sick Leave Ordinance

September, 2014


On September 10, 2014, California passed a new paid sick leave law set to take effect on July 1, 2015.

Employers — regardless of where they are located — are required to provide employees with one hour of paid sick leave for every 30 hours worked in California, up to at least 48 total hours. Employees begin accruing time after working 30 days in California within a year and can begin using accrued leave after 90 days of employment.

Employers must allow employees to use at least 24 hours of leave per year in increments no greater than 2 hours. Employees may use the time for illness, injury, or health care for their self or a family member or for any approved reasons for leave under California’s domestic violence, sexual assault, and stalking law.

Employers must allow the carryover of all accrued paid leave from year-to-year, unless the employer awards the time to the employee upfront at the beginning of the year. Employers do not need to pay an employee for accrued time off upon separation from employment, but an employee’s leave bank must be reinstated if the employee returns to work within 12 months.

The law covers all employers in the state, but it does not apply to home care workers, flight crews, or employees who are subject to a collective bargaining agreement that provides for paid sick leave.

If you have any questions about your obligations under the new California sick leave law, contact Cascade today.

 

View other Alerts & Reminders