Governor Brown Announces Counties Approved for Phase One

Published Thursday, May 14, 2020

On May 14, Governor Brown announced which counties have been approved to enter Phase One of Reopening during the COVID-19 Pandemic. The counties that have been approved are:

Baker, Benton, Clatsop, Columbia, Coos, Crook, Curry, Deschutes, Douglas, Gilliam, Grant, Harney, Hood River, Jackson, Josephine, Klamath, Lake, Lane, Lincoln, Linn, Malheur, Sherman, Tillamook, Union, Wallowa, Wasco, Wheeler, and Yamhill.

Jefferson, Morrow, and Umatilla are pending further review. Polk and Marion County did not meet the prerequisites. Three counties that have yet to apply are Clackamas, Multnomah, and Washington counties.

As previously mentioned, along with the specific business guidelines, counties and regions need to meet seven prerequisites before entering Phase One of the reopening plan. If any county approved for Phase One sees an increase in COVID-19 cases or fails to maintain the standards outlined, Phase One restrictions will be re-imposed. After a county has 21 days of compliance in Phase One, they are allowed to move onto Phase Two. Phase Two and Phase Three have yet to be announced.

Under Phase One, approved counties can begin reopening the following sectors under specific safety guidelines:

Separate from Phase One County reopenings, beginning May 15, childcare facilities and standalone retail businesses across Oregon will be allowed to reopen provided specific guidelines are met.

Governor Brown also announced during the press conference that people who usually work in an office and have been working from home during the pandemic must continue to work from home. Individuals are also encouraged to stay put and to not travel between counties.

Cascade will continue to monitor news regarding Oregon’s Reopening Framework. Please don’t hesitate to reach out if you have any questions.

Back to top